The 5 Love Languages

Last year, a great friend of mine read The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman. This is a fantastic book that explores how people share love, and how they expect to receive it. If you are in a relationship, or hope to be at some point, then this book is an essential read to understand your partner better. This book is beneficial for understanding friendships and family relationships as well. The 5 Love Languages are: Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving/Giving Gifts, Quality Time, and Physical Touch.

Acts of Service


Although a few of the categories apply to me, the way I express love is primarily through acts of service. I love helping people, and being hands on (hence my career choice). The way I love to receive love is through words of affirmation – just ask my husband how often I prod him for some encouragement ;) I’m also quite fond of physical touch, so I tend to be a rather huggy person. And here I thought that it was simply because my mom is European :D

We all feel and express love differently. One of my best friends is an amazing gift giver. That’s her love language. Try to recognize the love languages of the people in your life, and then act in ways that meet those needs, even if it’s not your love language specifically. You will be amazed at how your relationships will be transformed.

Just remember, if you’re a gift giver, give things that are useful. Although the friend who loves receiving gifts will adore just about anything, I would be remiss if I don’t encourage a less cluttered love language.

What’s your love language? <3

2 Responses so far.

  1. E says:

    My husband is probably more acts of service and I’m more words and quality time. I love getting experience based gifts like personal training, plays, and outings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>